Free plans compared
Best Free AI Math Homework Helpers (2026)
Some math tools give a final answer, some show the steps, and some are built to give hints so you do the thinking. Free access also differs: a solver may show basic steps for free and keep full working behind a plan. Use them to understand a method, check every line yourself, and follow your school's rules on help with graded work.
Disclosure: some Visit links may be affiliate links, and we may earn a commission at no extra cost to you. Details come from official pricing and product pages, last reviewed 2026-10-25; this is not a hands-on test. Confirm current limits with the provider.
What to check before you choose
- Does it show each step, or only the answer?
- Can it give a hint before the full solution?
- What does the free plan show, and what needs a subscription?
- Can you type, photograph or paste the problem?
- Does your teacher allow this kind of help on this work?
How we chose: tools listed here have an active product, a free plan or free tier, and pricing we could confirm from the provider. Retired or paid-only tools are left out automatically.
Quick comparison of free plans
| Tool | Free plan | No card needed | Platforms |
|---|---|---|---|
| Photomath | Basic problem scanning and step-by-step solutions are free. | — | iOS, Android |
| Khanmigo | Teacher tools are free for eligible access. Learner and parent plans are $4/month or $44/year; districts and writing offerings have separate arrangements. | — | Web |
| Mathway | The home page says Mathway is free to use and that step-by-step solutions are available without signing up, while an optional subscription unlocks the full work shown fo… | Yes | Web, iOS, Android |
| Symbolab | Symbolab's website does not state prices or free-tier limits. | — | Web, iOS, Android, Chrome Extension |
| StudySmarter | A continuing Free tier includes study sets, flashcards, summaries, revision planning and practice. | — | Web, iOS, Android |
| Google Gemini | Basic Gemini access and paid Google AI plans have different model and feature limits. | — | Web, iOS, Android |
| ChatGPT | Free is $0 with unlimited text chats on GPT-6 under abuse guardrails, plus limited uploads, image creation, voice, deep research and Codex access. | — | Web, macOS, Windows |
| Claude | Free usage is limited. Pro is $20/month or $200/year; Max starts at $100/month. | — | Web, macOS, Windows, iOS, Android |
| Microsoft Copilot | Standalone Copilot and Microsoft 365 subscriptions have different access. | — | Web, Windows, macOS, iOS, Android |
The tools, in detail
Math learning app that scans problems and explains solution steps, with additional learning features on eligible plans.
Best for: Math problem scanning and Step-by-step explanations
Free plan: Basic problem scanning and step-by-step solutions are free. Plus is an in-app subscription with additional tutorials, contextual hints, and concept explanations.
Key features
- Math problem scanning
- Step-by-step explanations
- Math input tools
Khan Academy's AI teaching and tutoring tools for lesson preparation, writing support, and guided learning.
Best for: Lesson preparation and guided learning in Khan Academy
Free plan: Teacher tools are free for eligible access. Learner and parent plans are $4/month or $44/year; districts and writing offerings have separate arrangements.
Key features
- Lesson preparation
- Teacher assistance
- Guided tutoring
- Writing support
Math solver and calculator from Chegg for typed or photographed problems, free to use with an optional paid plan for the full work shown at every step.
Best for: Mathway is a math solver and calculator from Chegg that its home page describes as AI-powered.
Free plan: The home page says Mathway is free to use and that step-by-step solutions are available without signing up, while an optional subscription unlocks the full work shown for every step. The Premium Terms list Step-by-Step Access at $9.99 monthly or $39.99 yearly, say rates may be updated, and state that subscriptions auto-renew and are non-refundable unless the law or app store requires otherwise. Free-tier limits and trial terms are not stated.
Key features
- Type in a problem or upload a photo
- Photo solver for handwritten and printed problems
- Step-by-step solutions
- 11 subjects from Basic Math to Physics
Limits to know
- The site does not state which AI model it uses, how accurate it is, or what the free-tier limits are
- Full work for every step needs a paid subscription
AI math solver and calculator with step-by-step solutions, practice and an AI chat; free solutions show basic steps and a subscription unlocks more.
Best for: Symbolab is an AI math solver and calculator from Learneo, Inc.
Free plan: Symbolab's website does not state prices or free-tier limits. Its terms refer to a free tier and to paid plans cancelled in Account Settings, with no refund for prepaid fees. The iOS App Store listing says free solutions show basic steps while a subscription unlocks advanced steps and explanations, and lists in-app subscriptions from $2.49 weekly to $39.99 yearly. Check the current price in the app or your account before paying.
Key features
- Step-by-step solutions
- Typed, plain-language or photo input
- Symbo AI chat for questions about a step
- Practice problems with hints
Limits to know
- The website states no prices or free-tier limits
- Advanced steps and explanations need a subscription, per the iOS listing
Build study sets, flashcards, summaries, mock exams, and revision plans from a subject or your own learning material.
Best for: StudySmarter suits learners turning a course outline or lecture notes into a repeatable revision routine.
Free plan: A continuing Free tier includes study sets, flashcards, summaries, revision planning and practice. Premium adds broader AI assistance, homework support, flashcard export and offline or ad-free features. Confirm current upload, generation and platform conditions; unlimited access to one feature does not establish unlimited use of every study tool.
Key features
- AI study-set creation
- Flashcards and summaries
- Revision plans
- Practice questions and feedback
Limits to know
- Advanced AI and exports depend on Premium
- Generated questions can omit required curriculum topics
Google's AI assistant for writing, planning, research, and multimodal tasks, with optional Google AI subscriptions.
Best for: Everyday writing, planning, and multimodal assistance
Free plan: Basic Gemini access and paid Google AI plans have different model and feature limits. Availability depends on country, account, and eligibility.
Key features
- Writing assistance
- Planning and brainstorming
- Multimodal questions
- Google AI subscription upgrades
Limits to know
- Image availability and controls depend on the current account; identity fidelity is not guaranteed.
OpenAI's AI assistant for writing, coding, research, file analysis, and connected work across chats and projects.
Best for: Writing, research, coding, and file-based tasks in one assistant
Free plan: Free is $0 with unlimited text chats on GPT-6 under abuse guardrails, plus limited uploads, image creation, voice, deep research and Codex access. Go is $8 a month and may include ads, Plus is $20, and Pro starts at $100 with three usage tiers.
Key features
- Projects and chats
- Web search
- File and image inputs
- Voice conversations
Limits to know
- The ChatGPT Free plan includes limited image creation. Uploads and other advanced features have plan-dependent allowances. API billing is separate; check current account availability and provider pricing.
- For tightly bounded evidence, give it source text instead of relying on recollection.
Anthropic's AI assistant for research, writing, code, files, and connected tasks, with free and paid plans.
Best for: Research, documents, coding, and connected knowledge work
Free plan: Free usage is limited. Pro is $20/month or $200/year; Max starts at $100/month. Model, context, and task limits vary by plan.
Key features
- Web search
- Artifacts
- File creation and code execution
- App connections
Limits to know
- A polished reply still needs a policy check; fluent wording does not establish entitlement.
Microsoft's AI assistant for everyday questions and work, with additional Copilot capabilities in Microsoft 365 plans.
Best for: Everyday assistance and eligible Microsoft 365 workflows
Free plan: Standalone Copilot and Microsoft 365 subscriptions have different access. Premium app features require a qualifying plan; do not assume all Office features are free.
Key features
- Conversational assistance
- Word drafting assistance
- Excel analysis assistance
- PowerPoint creation
Quick decision guide
- Want to avoid entering a card? Mathway.
Head-to-head comparisons
Frequently asked questions
Can I trust an AI math answer?
Not on its own. Put the answer back into the original problem, estimate it another way and compare with your notes. A confident, tidy solution can still contain a wrong line.
Is a math solver the same as a tutor?
No. A solver produces a worked solution. A tutor-style tool asks questions or gives hints so you attempt each step. Try the problem first, then use either to check your method.
Will using one get me in trouble at school?
Rules differ by school and course. Read your policy, ask your teacher if it is unclear, and say how you used a tool when asked.
Which math homework helpers here need no credit card?
Based on the official pages we reviewed, Mathway is listed as not needing a credit card to start. Confirm at sign-up, because plans change.
How current is this list?
Tool details were last reviewed 2026-10-25 from official pages. Free plans change often, so check the linked pricing page before you rely on a limit.